Single-celled microorganisms without a cell nucleus (prokaryotes), which are divided into three main shapes:

  • rod-shaped bacilli
  • spherical cocci
  • curved/helical spirilla.

Their average size is between 0.5 and 2.0 µm (1 µm = 1/1000 mm). This makes bacteria significantly larger than viruses . Bacteria that require oxygen are called aerobic bacteria; those that cannot tolerate oxygen are called obligate anaerobic bacteria; and those that tolerate oxygen are called facultative anaerobic bacteria. Furthermore, bacteria are divided into two groups using Gram’s staining method: gram-negative  (thin cell wall, turning red) and gram-positive  (thick cell wall, turning blue). They can reproduce independently and have recently shown increasing resistance to antibiotics.

Bacteria are the most common pathogens of nosocomial (hospital-acquired)  infections: they cause more than 90 % of these infections.

Disinfectants  that can kill bacteria have a bactericidal  spectrum of activity .

Click here to learn more about our disinfection products.

zum Glossar
Ask our team
Sign up for our newsletter.